Tire Reviews: Kelly Safari Trex

Tire Reviews: Kelly Safari Trex

by Tim Morris
(Seminole, Florida)

These tires are, by far, the worst tires I have ever owned.


The ride is torture, constant vibration at all speeds and severe at 40-50 and 60-70mph. I have had these tires rebalanced 4 times and still the same horrible ride.

The truck also no longer feels stable at speeds over 40mph. The vibration is beginning to produce rattling noises in the cab.

I will NEVER but Kelly tires again ... what a waste of money.

Comments for Tire Reviews: Kelly Safari Trex

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 11, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Safari Trex
by: Ray J

Tires have performed well in all weather conditions on my 2005 Durango. The only issue is the tires are very noisy and noticeable when driving with the windows down.

Mar 06, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
hummers
by: Anonymous

These tires were noisy from the day I purchased them! The dealer would not stand behind the sale. Let me feel I was a perfectionist on sound. Sirens, horns or weather alerts never overpower the hum of these tires. The ride is stiff and nothing like the previous tires. NEXT SET OF TIRES WILL NOT BE KELLY OR FROM THAT DEALER!

Nov 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Am I driving a tractor on the road?
by: Mike in Colorado

I am on year 2.5 for these tires and while I like the idea of someday driving a John Deer Tractor through the small town of Erie CO, I don't need the sound and tire vibration that these tires are now providing. I now hate driving my beloved Tacoma 4X4 Double Cab pickup...so my xmas present to myself will be BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO's. Loved them when I bought the truck and succumbed to being a cheapskate when I needed new ones….

Editorial Comment
If these tires were smooth and quiet running for the first couple of years, then there may be a problem with they way the tires have worn, and not with their design. Have an experienced tire tech look at them, you may discover that there's a problem in your suspension or in balance of these tires.

Of course, if the tires are now nearly worn out you'll still have to replace them, but you want to be sure that you don't have a mechanical problem which could ruin your new tires before their normal life if you leave it uncorrected.

TG

Aug 31, 2012
Rating
star
Wore out too soon
by: Anonymous

These tires aren't performing as well as cheaper ones I've owned. They are ver noisy. Stay clear.

Aug 13, 2012
Rating
starstar
Runs like an elephant
by: Anonymous

I installed these on my Ford Edge at the dealers recommendation. The traction is fine. They are wearing poorly. At about 36 K they will soon need replacing. I hate them for the noise. They make my Edge sound like a transport truck. I'll be glad to be rid of them...

Nov 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Loved them
by: Anonymous

We had a set on an '02 ranger 4x4 and other than deep thick mud, we never had a problem once we got a set that would balence out. They were great on wet/dry pavement, wet/dry trails, never any trouble on wet boat ramps pulling boat out. I am trying to talk the wife imto putting then on her '03 Explorer this year. I would and will buy them again.

Nov 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
seem o.k.
by: ben

I bought an 06 durango and the kelly safari trex were new and included in the deal. They run smooth and quiet for me but don't do anthing impressive in terms of performance or cornering. They seem like nice tires for a grocery getter family ride.

Oct 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love these on my 2002 Ford Escape
by: D Kuntz - Illinois

I replace the original Continentals tires that got 52,000 miles with no traction with these Kelly Safari Trex tires and I love them. I have 53,000 miles on these now with still plenty of tread, I see getting at least 65,000 miles before replacement. I have them rotated and balanced every 6,000 miles. They get excellent traction year around. The only negative, they are slighlty louder than the original tires, but I got used to that quickly and I'm really to accept the trade off for better traction.

Oct 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worse tires ever!!
by: Anonymous

I bought the kelly safaris about a year ago and after about 1000 miles i noticed vibration and took it in and had it balanced and checked out. they said the tires were starting to wear "irregularly". And have gotten worse since . It is now a very bad vibration and the tires are cupped and have taken it to several different shops for opinions and all have said the same that it is the tires and nothing to do with the truck. alignment was fine as was everything else. I will never buy these tires again, its been a headache the last 8 months everytime i get in my truck and drive!!!

Sep 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
not happy
by: johnh@jdhuot.com

I have 40K on these tires and the sidewalls are braking down. I will repost when we see what the dealer will do about it. The service guys are a buch of tools so far. These may just may be a bad product for minnesota

Sep 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
good tire for the price
by: Anonymous

i've got an 08 ford escape i replaced the
mushy factory tires with safari trex, i have
17" rims and paid $140 a tire out the door.
i'm pleased with the ride and handling, true
the tires have a slight run-out issue, the
tires work excellant in wet conditions, and
do good in snow as well and positive off-road
traction. trex are a good tire for average
drivers in lighter vehicles who don't stray
from the asphalt often, i like them.

Sep 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Money for nothing
by: Anonymous

I agree with the consumer who said worst tires i have ever owned and its not my suspension my jeep is new just decided to install new tires and wheels same problems very bad vibrations throughout all speeds i have had suspension checked by the same tire co who installed them also have had them balanced and rotated approx 8 times at different tire shops including sears,goodyear tire service ctr and other quality tire shops they all tell me the same thing nothing wrong with the vechicle tires are balanced but i always have the same problen major vibrations i also reinstalled the original tires that came on my jeep and now it is smooth again.so worst tires i ever owned waste of hard earned money

Aug 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
not tire issue..suspension issue
by: Anonymous

it's not the tires, it's your suspension...

Jun 28, 2011
Rating
starstar
Ouch
by: Anonymous

Ive got them, and they are extremely smooth and very quiet. Must have gotten a bad batch or something.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Tire Review.

tireguy

Other useful links

We have a special
place to show-off your favorite wheels
See the Hot Wheels Show Room

Add To Favorites




Visit Tire Information World's Exclusive Tire Care and Accessories Store.


Click Here to Download your free Portable Treadwear Calculator Now
!

[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!


T-I-W is a free publication made possible through your voluntary support of products and services which have links on this website. See Revenue & Support for details.

SBI! Monthly Billing Option